Cheap car insurance in Missouri

Illustration of Gateway Arch in St. Louis, MissouriIllustration of Gateway Arch in St. Louis, Missouri

If you're a Missouri driver, it's important to have the right car insurance in place. Not only is it the law, but it can also help protect you and others on the road. The most expensive coverage doesn't necessarily mean the best coverage, so here's a breakdown of all there is to know about cheap car insurance in Missouri.

What's required of all Missouri drivers?

If you're planning on hitting the roads in Missouri, there are a few things you'll need to drive legally. First, you'll need a valid Missouri driver's license. This is a standard requirement in all states, but it's especially important in Missouri to ensure you can safely navigate the roads and follow all traffic laws.

To obtain a driver's license in Missouri, you must be at least 16 years old. If you're under 18, you'll also need to hold a learner's permit for at least six months and complete an approved driver education program. In addition, you'll need to log at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including 10 hours of night driving.

Once you've met these requirements, you'll need to:

  • Pass a vision test and a written knowledge test

  • Pass a road test to demonstrate the skills and knowledge necessary to drive safely in Missouri

Remember, a driver's license is just one part of being a responsible, legal driver in Missouri. Your vehicle must be registered and insured, and you have to be familiar with all state traffic laws. Following these guidelines helps keep you and other motorists safe.

What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Missouri?

Missouri requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. The minimum coverage requirements in Missouri are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability or death of one person in an accident

  • $50,000 for bodily injury liability or death of two or more people in an accident

  • $25,000 for property damage liability in an accident

These minimum coverage amounts are known as 25/50/25 coverage. In addition to these personal liability coverage amounts, Missouri also requires you to carry uninsured motorist (UM) bodily injury coverage with the same minimum limits. If you're in an accident with an uninsured driver, this coverage can help protect you from paying out-of-pocket for your injuries.

It's important to note that the minimum car insurance requirements in Missouri are just that—the minimum. You may want to consider purchasing additional coverage to better protect yourself if you’re involved in an accident. 

We encourage you to speak with an insurance provider to determine the coverage options that make sense for you financially.

Illustration of Missouri

Are optional car insurance coverages available in Missouri?

In addition to these state-required coverages, you can also choose to purchase additional coverage for more protection. Here are several of the optional auto insurance coverages we offer in Missouri:

Collision coverage

Collision coverage helps cover damages to your own vehicle if you’re in an accident with another vehicle or a stationary object. You’ll need to first purchase collision insurance before purchasing comprehensive.

Comprehensive coverage

Comprehensive coverage helps cover damages to your vehicle from non-collision events, such as theft, vandalism, and natural disasters like hailstorms.

Underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage

Underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) can help protect you if you’re involved in an accident with a driver who has auto insurance, but not enough to pay for your covered expenses. This coverage isn't required, and isn’t available if you haven't also purchased UM coverage.

Special equipment coverage

Special equipment coverage can help pay to repair or replace customizations you’ve made to your vehicle if you’re involved in a covered loss. This coverage is only available if you’ve purchased collision and comprehensive coverages first.

Rental reimbursement coverage

This coverage helps reimburse you for rental expenses if your vehicle is in the shop for repairs due to a covered loss. Like special equipment coverage, rental reimbursement is only available if you’ve purchased collision and comprehensive coverages.

Named non-owner

Named non-owner coverage can help protect you with liability coverage if you cause an accident while driving a vehicle you don’t own.

Roadside assistance

Roadside assistance provides 24-hour emergency towing and roadside service if your vehicle is disabled due to a mechanical or electrical breakdown, a flat tire, or low fuel, oil, or other fluid. It can even help if you lock your keys in your car.

Illustration of a police siren light

Thinking of driving without coverage?

Learn why driving without insurance can be a costly risk.

Car insurance discounts offered in Missouri

Have more than one vehicle at your house? Do you own your home? You could qualify for money-saving car insurance discounts like these:

  • Multi-car

  • Homeowners

  • Transfer

  • Paid in full

  • Advance quote

Illustration of a desk with a computer, phone, calendar and lamp

3 pasos para obtener una cotización de seguro de auto gratis

Illustration of the number one in a circle
Proporcione informaciónsobre usted, su vehículo y su historial de conducción.
Illustration of the number two in a circle
Ingrese detalles sobre otras personas que conducen su auto.
Illustration of the number three in a circle
Seleccione las coberturas que desea y revise para qué descuentos califica.
Illustration of Missouri state map

Need more than Missouri car insurance?

These state resources can help you ensure you’re set up to legally drive in Missouri.

Missouri Department of Transportation

Missouri Division of Motor Vehicles

Call for Vehicle Title & General Info or use this map to find your local office contact and location information.

Missouri Department of Insurance

Encuentra Tu Seguro