Get affordable Florida car insurance

Illustration of Seven Mile Bridge on a sunny day in Florida with palm trees and waterIllustration of Seven Mile Bridge on a sunny day in Florida with palm trees and water

To legally register a vehicle and drive in compliance with Florida car insurance laws, you’re required to have two types of auto insurance: property damage liability and personal injury protection. Beyond that, you can choose additional coverages that fit your unique circumstances as a driver. So, whether you’re heading down to Key West for a relaxing weekend or tailgating at The Swamp in the fall, make sure you and your vehicle are protected with reliable, affordable car insurance.

Minimum insurance requirements for Florida

Insurance helps cover costs related to accidents you’re fully or partially at fault for. In Florida, you’re required to carry the following minimum limits for coverage:

  • $10,000 property damage liability per accident

  • $10,000 personal injury protection

Maximum liability limits in Florida

Holding the minimum amount of coverage will help keep you legal, but keep in mind it may not fully cover you if you get into an accident. Higher coverage limits can help protect you—just be aware that there are also maximum bodily injury and property damage coverage limits. Here are the highest coverage amounts we offer in Florida:

  • $100,000 bodily injury per person

  • $300,000 bodily injury per accident

  • $100,000 property damage per accident

Illustration of Florida

Optional auto insurance coverages

In Florida, your insurance company is required to offer bodily injury coverage and uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage, but you have the option to reject either or both. With Dairyland, you can also choose from several additional, optional coverages:

  • Medical payments

  • Comprehensive

  • Collision

  • Special equipment

  • Rental reimbursement

  • Lienholder deductible

  • Roadside assistance

We also offer named non-owner policies. If you frequently drive a vehicle that doesn’t belong to you, this coverage can help financially protect both you and the vehicle’s owner. Additionally, we offer one-year policy terms for liability insurance and named non-owner coverage.

Florida FR-2, SR-22, and FR-44 insurance

Based on your driving record, you may be told you need to get an FR-2, SR-22 or FR-44 form to legally drive in Florida. FR-2s, SR-22s, and FR-44s are available in Florida. We understand the process of getting these forms can seem complicated, so we help make it easy with same-day filing and knowledgeable customer support team members available to help you. Give us a call at 888-344-4357 to learn more.

Cost for Florida car insurance

Auto insurance companies consider several factors to determine car insurance costs, including:

  • Location: If you live within a ZIP code that has relatively high instances of crime or theft, you could end up with higher premiums than someone who lives in another location. Whether you live in Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, or Tallahassee, we offer affordable auto insurance options to help keep you safe.

  • Credit score: Insurance companies use an insurance score to help determine your premium rates. Your credit score plays a role in determining your insurance score. Having a higher credit score will likely help you get better rates.

  • Age: If you’re a relatively young driver, you’ll likely pay higher car insurance rates than drivers in their mid-20s to late 50s. Once you reach your early-to-mid-60s, your rates will probably start increasing again, since slower reflexes can contribute to increased accident risks.

  • Your car: The make, model, and age of your vehicle will impact your rates. Vehicles with advanced technology and custom parts can be more expensive to repair than older models with standard parts. Additionally, in Florida, your car must be 20 years old or newer to get comprehensive and collision coverage from Dairyland.

  • Driving record: You’ll pay more for insurance if you have a history of violations, speeding tickets, or accidents on your record. Some auto insurance providers will decline coverage in Florida if you have a less-than-perfect record over the past three years—but not Dairyland. If you’ve been turned down for coverage with another provider, call 888-344-4357 now to get your free quote and get covered.

Dairyland® auto insurance discounts available in Florida

We offer the following discounts to Florida drivers. Contact us to learn more—you may qualify for more auto insurance discounts than you realize.

  • Prior insurance

  • Homeowners

  • Multi-car

  • Advanced quote

  • Defensive driver course

  • Anti-lock brakes

  • Air bag

  • Anti-theft

Illustration of a desk with a computer, phone, calendar and lamp

3 steps to get a free car insurance quote

Illustration of the number one in a circle
Provide information about yourself, your vehicle, and your driving history.
Illustration of the number two in a circle
Input details on other people who drive your car.
Illustration of the number three in a circle
Select the coverages you want and see what discounts you qualify for.
Illustration of Florida state map

Cheap FL car insurance

We’ve served drivers like you since 1953. When you choose Dairyland auto insurance, you receive affordable rates, exceptional service, and coverages that make sense for you, your vehicle, and your financial situation.

Get insured