If you live in Virginia or Florida and have recently received an infraction for driving under the influence (DUI), then you may need an FR-44. We’ve put together some Q&As to help you understand what an FR-44 is all about.
No. An FR-44 proves you’re meeting your state’s car insurance requirements, but it’s not considered insurance itself. An FR-44 is a certificate from your insurance provider letting the state know that you’re covered for the insurance your state requires.
When you get a DUI, only the states of Florida and Virginia require your insurance company to file an FR-44. In all other states, this filing is referred to as an SR-22.
An SR-22 verifies that you’ll carry at least your state’s minimum liability insurance requirements for typically three years, though how long may vary based on your violation. An FR-44 differs from an SR-22 in that an SR-22 requires minimum liability limit insurance be carried, and an FR-44 requires greater than minimum liability limits.
Virginia and Florida can also require an SR-22 for non-alcohol-related offenses. You may also be required to have an SR-22 in these states if you’re caught falsifying or not carrying required auto insurance.
Once you have your court hearing and are told you need an FR-44, contact your insurance agent. They’ll start the process of adding an FR-44 to your policy and ensure you get the proof of FR-44 you need to reinstate your driver’s license.
While the duration might vary, an FR-44 is usually required for three years. But to be sure, double check with the court or your state’s DMV to know how long you must keep this certificate on file. If your policy lapses before your designated term is up, the DMV will be notified by your insurance provider and your license may be suspended.
Insurance rates are determined by multiple factors, including driving experience and history, age, marital status, and where you live. Additionally, requiring an FR-44 deems you a high-risk driver, which increases your insurance rates.
Researching available auto insurance discounts can help reduce the cost of your insurance.
Yes. Dairyland can issue an FR-44 immediately, with same-day electronic filing in Florida and Virginia. Give us a call at 844-242-4468 to begin.
In Florida, when you buy an FR-44, it must be paid in full. In Virginia, you can pay in installments—we can work with you to set up a payment plan. In both states, we offer a discount when a policy is paid in full. This discount applies to your FR-44 policy, and can help offset your total cost.
An FR-44’s minimum requirement for bodily injury protection is $100K/$300K, and $50K for property damage protection in Florida. For Virginia, it’s $50,000/$100,000 and $40,000 respectively.
State law requires that an FR-44 policy can’t be cancelled. If your policy lapses, your insurance provider is required to notify the state and your license may be suspended.
Typically, your rates will increase. The extent your rates change will vary by insurance carrier.
A certificate of financial responsibility is another term for an FR-44, showing that you meet your state’s car insurance requirements for a specified amount of time.
We know you might have more questions about FR-44 insurance, and we can help. Contact us via our website or give us a call at 800-334-0090.
Wondering how other traffic violations, such as speeding tickets, might affect your insurance? We can help clarify.
Auto insurance requirements vary from state to state. That’s why it’s important to understand your state’s insurance requirements.The general information in this blog is for informational or entertainment purposes only. View our blog disclaimer.