While every state has some sort of mandatory guideline regarding car and auto insurance coverage,
the minimum limits vary by state.
The following is a breakdown of minimum liability requirements for North Carolina:
Is it mandatory to have car insurance in North Carolina?
What are the minimum limits for North Carolina?
$30,000 bodily injury per person
$60,000 bodily injury per accident
$25,000 property damage per accident
Dairyland® coverage in North Carolina
At Dairyland, we’re proud to be able to help drivers in North Carolina meet their insurance needs. Here are some of the parameters of our insurance coverage in North Carolina:
What is the maximum bodily injury liability and property damage limit Dairyland offers in North Carolina?
$100,000 bodily injury per person
$300,000 bodily injury per accident
$50,000 property damage per accident
What liability coverages are required to be offered in North Carolina? Can a customer reject them?
Bodily Injury, Property Damage, and Uninsured Motorist Property Damage coverage must be offered. None can be rejected.
What are all the coverages Dairyland offers in North Carolina?
- Accidental Death & Dismemberment
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
- Other than Collision (Comprehensive)
- Medical Payments
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage
- Towing and Labor
- Extended Transportation (Rental Reimbursement)
What’s the oldest a vehicle can be to get Dairyland’s comprehensive and collision coverage in North Carolina?
How far back does North Carolina go to look at violation history?
What additional policy types are offered in North Carolina?
Named Non-Owner, and antique auto (liability only)
Is an insurance score used in my rating in North Carolina? If so, is it mandatory?
Yes, for vehicles with physical damage coverage only. It’s not mandatory.
What policy terms does Dairyland offer in North Carolina?
6 and 12 months
What is Dairyland’s minimum down payment option in North Carolina?
16.66%, varies by risk
Are SR22s used in North Carolina?
SR22s aren’t used in North Carolina.
What discounts are available from Dairyland in North Carolina?
- Air bag
- Prior insurance (transfer)
- Responsible resident
Do I need proof of insurance to get a driver’s license in North Carolina?
If you’re getting a driver’s license in North Carolina, you will likely need to provide proof of liability insurance coverage, such as a DL-123 form, from a North Carolina-licensed insurance carrier. Instances in which proof of coverage is needed includes individuals:
- Applying for an original license, including transfers from out of state
- Whose licenses are being restored after revocation or suspension
- Awarded a Limited Driving Privilege by the court
Documents that you may present as proof of vehicle insurance include:
- DL-123 form, obtained from your insurance agent
- An insurance binder
- Vehicle insurance policy reflecting your name and the issue and expiration dates
- An insurance card with your name, the policy number, and issue and expiration dates
DL-123 forms, binders, and certificates are valid only for 30 days from the date of issue.
What happens if my North Carolina car insurance coverage lapses?
If you have a lapse in car insurance coverage in North Carolina, your insurance company is required by law to notify the Division of Motor Vehicles. Upon receiving this information, the Division of Motor Vehicles is required to send a Form FS 5-7 Notice to you, in which you’re required to respond within 10 days.
If you’ve had a lapse in coverage, you must re-certify with updated insurance information and pay a penalty within the 10-day allotment to retain your license plate. If you don’t respond within the 10 days, you can lose your license plate for 30 days.
If you lose your license plate, you can get it back. After the 30 days are up, you need to:
- Provide proof of insurance coverage Form FS-1, obtained from your insurance carrier
- Pay a civil penalty fee of $50, $100, or $150, depending on your lapse history
- Pay a $50 service fee
- Pay the appropriate license plate fee