Having an active car insurance policy can help you stay legal as a North Carolina driver, but that’s not the only benefit. It can also help protect you, and other drivers, if you’re involved in an accident. Here’s what you need to know about getting cheap car insurance in North Carolina.
You’ll need to be able to provide proof of liability insurance before you can title a vehicle or renew your vehicle registration in North Carolina.
The type of North Carolina driver’s license or permit you need depends on the type of vehicle you drive, your age and driving experience, and other factors.
You also need to get to know the state’s rules of the road. You can download the North Carolina Driver’s Handbook or pick one up at your local North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office.
Each state establishes its required minimum car insurance coverage limits. Here are the coverages and limits you need on your policy to legally drive in North Carolina:
$30,000 for bodily injury liability or death of one person
$60,000 for bodily injury liability or death of two or more people
$25,000 for property damage liability per accident
You’re required to carry UM bodily injury liability coverage if you meet but don’t exceed the bodily injury liability limits above. If you own more than one vehicle, each must have the same UM bodily injury liability limits.
You’re also required to carry UM property damage liability. All your vehicles must have the same UM property damage liability limits.
You need to have UIM bodily injury liability if your standard bodily injury liability coverage exceeds the minimum required limits above. To purchase UIM coverage, you also need UM coverage on your policy. All vehicles on your policy need the same UM/UIM bodily injury limits.
Absolutely. While the coverages above can help protect you in many accident scenarios, you can choose to purchase optional coverages for additional protection. Here are several of the optional car insurance coverages available in your state:
Medical bills can add up quickly. To help soften the blow, consider adding medical payments coverage to your policy. This coverage helps pay for medical expenses for you and/or your passengers following an accident—even if you were at fault.
Comprehensive coverage—referred to as other than collision in North Carolina—can help pay for repairs if your vehicle is damaged by something other than a collision with another vehicle. For example:
Hitting an animal
Hail damage or other weather-related incidents
If you’re involved in an accident with another vehicle and your vehicle is damaged, collision coverage can help pay for repairs, no matter who was at fault.
Non-owner car insurance coverage can provide significant value if you cause an accident while driving someone else’s car. If you don’t own a car, if you’re between cars, or you need to provide proof of insurance, this coverage may make sense for you.
Looking for a simple way to potentially save even more money on your car insurance? Talk to your agent to see if you qualify for one—or several—of the car insurance discounts we offer in North Carolina:
Prior insurance (Transfer)
This discount only applies to medical payments coverage.
If your vehicle is equipped with air bags, you’ll get a discount on your medical payments coverage.
If your policy cancels or lapses, the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV) will be notified and will contact you. Fines for letting your insurance lapse typically range between $50–$150.
Each auto insurance provider uses a range of factors to determine car insurance rates, including:
Your driving history
How long you’ve been driving
Your ZIP code
Your vehicle type
How frequently you drive
Your driving history is just one of several factors that can determine how much you pay for auto insurance in North Carolina. If you’ve had your driver’s license for less than three years, auto insurance companies will likely consider you an inexperienced driver, which may result in higher rates. As you gain experience—and establish a clean driving record—you may see your rates decrease.
Your insurance company can provide you with a certificate of insurance—commonly referred to as an FS-1 form—so you can show proof of liability insurance. Make sure you carry your auto insurance ID card in your vehicle as well.
We can help you get the most out of your auto insurance. These trusted agencies can help you with other important aspects of living in North Carolina:
Visit the North Carolina DOT website for a range of resources—from maps and traffic cameras to ferry and train schedules.
The North Carolina DOI website offers free resources on all things insurance—from auto and homeowners to life and health.