You live in Florida or Virginia, and you’ve been told you need an FR44, or FR-44 insurance. Upon hearing that news, you might search for “FR 44 Virginia” or “FR 44 Florida” to get a better idea of what you need. However, the one thing you do know is that you want cheap FR44 insurance—fast.
Thankfully, you can get answers to your questions about FR44 insurance and obtain affordable FR-44 coverage through us! We’re an industry leader in Non-Owner SR22 and Non-Owner FR44 insurance.
We can issue you an FR44 Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR) immediately with electronic filing in Florida and Virginia on the same day. You can also get a free quote from us. Just contact us or call 800-334-0090 to speak with one of our friendly and knowledgeable customer service representatives.
The FR-44 is similar to an SR-22. The FR 44 is a document of financial responsibility in Florida and Virginia proving that you carry car insurance. However, an FR44 requires your liability coverage limits to be significantly higher than the state minimum.
These are all variations of coverage known as FR44. Different companies might use their own style for FR44 insurance, but it’s all the same.
In Florida and Virginia, you need an FR44 if you incur a DUI or drive on a suspended license to reinstate your license with the DMV.
In general, simply indicating you need an FR44 filing when purchasing your policy is enough.
While the duration might vary, an FR44 is usually required for three years. However, state laws are amended, so if you’re required to carry either a SR-22 or FR-44 filing, you should find out from the court or state's Department of Motor Vehicles how long you must keep this certificate of financial responsibility on file with the state. If your policy lapses before the three years or designated term is up, the DMV will be notified and your license will be suspended.
If you have a DUI or DWI, most states require your insurance company to file an SR22 with the DMV. An SR-22 verifies the fulfillment of your state’s minimum liability requirements for the next three years. In Florida and Virginia, an FR-44 is required for the CFR if you have a DUI or drive on a suspended license. An FR44 verifies you will carry double your state’s minimum liability requirements for the next three years.
A driver must have these new required lability limits (instead of the previously lower limits of $10/$20/$10) in place on the offense date of the alcohol-related violation to not owe a reinstatement fee to the state, but will still need to provide the state with an FR-44..
If they didn’t have the required limits, a driver who had their license reinstated prior to February 2, 2008, only paid a $15 reinstatement fee. The reinstatement fee on or after February 2, 2008, is now $150, $250, or $500.
Insurance rates are determined by many factors: driving experience and history, age, marital status, and where you live. Additionally, requiring an FR44 deems you a high-risk driver, which will likely increase your insurance rates. Thankfully, at Dairyland, we save you money with free quotes, money-saving discounts, and some of the cheapest rates in car insurance.
Yes, we can issue one immediately, with electronic filing in Florida and Virginia on the same day. Just give us a call at 888-344-4357.
By law, when you buy an FR44, it must be paid in full. However, with Dairyland, you get a discount for paying your policy in full. And that’s on top of the great car insurance rates we already offer our customers.
For an FR44, the minimum requirement for bodily injury protection is $100K/$300K, and $50K for property damage protection.
By law, an FR 44 policy cannot be cancelled. If the policy lapses, your license will be suspended.
You’ve heard of getting a free pass for your first accident, right? Well, we offer the same free pass when it comes to your first DUI—meaning we won’t hike your rates for your first transgression if you have no other violations.
Dairyland is the industry leader in Named Non-Owner policies with FR-44s in Florida.
An FR44 means you’re meeting your state’s car insurance minimum requirements and is NOT car insurance itself. We, as your policy provider, would be making the “promise” to the state that we are covering you for certain car insurance-related circumstances.
A certificate of financial responsibility is another term for an FR44, showing that you’re meeting your state’s car insurance requirements for a specified amount of time.
We know you might have more questions about FR44 insurance. We can help. Contact or give us a call at 800-334-0090.
At Dairyland, we feel strongly about your safety, and we promote that through our Defensive Driving Discount. Check out what you might be able to save today.
Also, make sure you have the coverages you need on the road.